I came across this on an online dating profile. It stuck in my mind and I kept a copy of it because it was on a man’s profile and I was tired of reading men’s profiles blaming women for the situation they were in.

A special toast for women who refuse to be silenced

Here’s to the women who stand up tall,
to the ones who fight and refuse to fall.
The ones that won’t accept defeat,
no matter how depressed or beat

Here’s to the women size twenty or eight,
and to the older ones that still look great.
To the fair of skin or a flawless tan,
to the ones that flirt like would a man

Here’s to the women who just don’t care,
about their looks or what they wear.
To the sexy ones that dress to kill,
and make the men both sweat and chill.

Here’s to the women who will not cower,
when faced with threat or those in power.
To the young, the old, the big, the small,
and the ones who stand each time they fall.

Here’s to the women who just won’t quit,
and those that shout or throw a fit.
To the sweeter ones that wont attack,
but will find a way to pay you back.

Here’s to you all, I raise my glass,
to the women out there no matter your class.
Drink to yourselves and shout out aloud
“I’m a strong special woman and of that I am proud!”

by Gabrielle Llambias


Other poems worth reading:
My perfect little world by Gabrielle Llambias
Ithaca by Constantin Kavafis

