A lot of what I am doing in this project is an ongoing process. Turning my life around, feeling good and being happier cannot be done in a year and needs patience and willingness to stick to it. This is my second year, that is an achievement, as I get disappointed and give up fairly quickly.

The approach I am taking to feel good, is to concentrate on living a balanced life – balance is a key element of living a fulfilling, happy and healthy life. There are seven life areas that make up our lives as individuals, these are: Spiritual, Intellectual, Psychological, Social, Professional, Recreational, Physical. All life areas are interrelated, they are all important and if one of these is ‘unbalanced’, they can quickly impact the other areas.

As some of these areas overlap, I have simplified the list to five:

  1. Social
  2. Professional/Intellectual
  3. Psychological/Spiritual
  4. Physical
  5. Recreational

Each month I concentrate on an activity that involves one of the above areas. Once an activity becomes a habit it becomes a part of my life (research shows it takes 21 – 30 days to fully break/form a new habit). I since discovered, I personally need at least 30 days for something to become a habit (if done daily or at least four times a week and depending on the activity!)

Further Reading:
Two simple ways to form new habits…

